Student Voters

Post-Secondary Students can vote in Municipal Elections

There is a special rule for students who may be living away from home while they attend school. If you are a student and consider your "home" to be the place where you live when you are not attending school, which means you plan on returning there, then you are eligible to vote in both your "home" municipality and in the municipality where you currently live while attending school.

My "Home" is Kingston but I go to School in another City

If you are registered as a voter in Kingston you can vote on-line or vote using a proxy.

I go to School in Kingston but my "Home" is Someplace Else.

If you own, rent or live in residence in Kingston you can vote in Kingston's municipal election.

You can register to vote, and then vote, in the Kingston election on Advance Voting Day (October 16) or Voting Day (October 22).

You will need to bring a piece of identification with your name and your Kingston address.  If Kingston is not your regular home, this will likely be:

  • Your lease or rental agreement.
  • Your Rental insurance statement.
  • Document showing campus residence, issued by the office or officials responsible for student residence at a post-secondary institution.
  • Utility bill for hydro, water, gas, telephone or cable TV or a bill from a public utilities commission.
  • Cheque stub or pay receipt issued by an employer.
  • Transcript or report card from a post-secondary institution

     The full list of acceptable documents can be found here.

Where do I vote?

To find out which district you live in, find where you live on this map.

Advance Voting Day (October 16) Voting Locations

You can vote in the voting place in your district.

Voting Day (October 22) Voting Locations

You can vote in any voting place in your district.

Collins-Bayridge District

Countryside District

Kingscourt-Rideau District

King's Town District

Lakeside District

Loyalist Cataraqui District

Meadowbrook-Strathcona District

Pittsburgh District

Portsmouth District

Sydenham District

Trillium District

Williamsville District